New Jersey Devils is an ice hockey team based in Newark, New Jersey. The club was first founded as the Kansas City Scouts 1974. The Scouts moved to Colorado 1976 and became the Colorado Rockies. In 1982 they moved to New Jersey and took their current name. New Jersey Devils is a member of the Metropolitan Division of the Eastern Conference.

New Jersey Devils Team History

After two relocations New Jersey Devils started to used their current name 1982. First five seasons with new name and location were poor. 1987 they hired Lou Lamariello as a general manager and this was key point to turned New Jersey Devils as a winning organization. Under Lamariello the Devils made playoffs all but three times between 1988 and 2012.

New Jersey Devils won their first Stanley Cup during the lockout-shortened season 1994-95. They won Detroit Red Wings at Finals 4-0, even Detroit was a big favorite. Next time the Devils reached finals at season 1999-2000 – they won Dallas Stars at the Finals 4-2 and took their second Stanley Cup. The Devils reached Stanley Cup Finals also next season (2000-01), but this time Colorado Avalanche was better 3-4. The Devils took their third Stanley Cup at season 2002-03. This time they meet Mighty Ducks of Anaheim at the Finals and won 4-3. Season 2011-12 was last time when the Devils was seen at the Finals – they lost 2-4 to the Los Angeles Kings. After that season results have been quite poor and last 8 seasons team qualified only once to the playoffs.

New Jersey Devils’ Owners and Staff

New Jersey Devils is currently middle of the difficulties, they have interim GM and Head Coach. Currently, the interim General Manager of New Jersey Devils is Tom Fitzgerald. The interim head coach Alain Nasreddine was appointed to his position in 2019. The team is owned by New Jersey Devils, LLC. New Jersey Devils has two minor league affiliates, those being Binghamton Devils in AHL league and Adirondack Thunder in ECHL league.

Martin Brodeur – Shutouts and more records

Martin Brodeur is widely regarded as one of the greatest goalies of all time. He was drafter by the Devils 20th overall in the 1990 NHL draft. He played 23 seasons with the Devils and 1259 games. Brodeur holds numerous NHL records among goalies – all-time regular season wins (691), shutouts (125), games played (1266) and goals scored (3). Martin Brodeur has won 4 Vezina Trophies, 5 William M. Jennings Trophies and 3 Stanley Cups.

Scott Stevens – Long time captain

Scott Stevens played 1635 games in his 22 NHL seasons (all time 2nd by a defenceman). Stevens started his career with Washington Capitals, but played his best seasons with the Devils. He played 13 seasons with the Devils and won 3 Stanley Cups during that period – he was captain of the Devils from 1992 to 2004. Stevens won Conn Smythe Trophy 2000 as a MVP of the playoffs.

Patrick Elias – 20 seasons with the Devils

Patrick Elias played 20 seasons with the Devils and he is franchise’s all-time leader in points, goals and assists. He won Stanley Cup twice with Devils. Elias played 1240 games with the Devils and scored 1025 (408+617) points.

Other famous names

Scott Niedermayer was 3rd overall pick at 1991 NHL Draft by the Devils. Niedermayer played 12 seasons with Devils and was key part of the Devils tough defence. He won Norris Trophy at season 2003-04. He won three Stanley Cups with the Devils and one with Anaheim Ducks.