New York Islanders is an ice hockey team based in New York metropolitan area. It was founded 1972 and it was part of the NHL’s maneuvers to compete against rival league WHA. New York Islanders is one of the three NHL teams in New York metropolitan area along with New Jersey Devils and New York Rangers.

Team History

After two years building up team’s roster New York Islanders was big success story. Islanders takes fourteen straight playoffs berths starting with their third season and won four consecutive Stanley Cups (1980-83). New York Islanders are still last team in any major professional North American sport to win championship four times in a row. New York Islanders stays competitive around ten years after last Stanley Cup, but then team ran into the problems: Lack of money, bad management decisions, aging arena and low attendance to the games gave big problems and Islanders didn’t win playoff series for 23 years after season 1992-93 – next time Islanders won playoff series at season 2015-16, when they beat Florida Panthers 4-2.

New York Islanders’ Owners and Staff

Currently, the General Manager of New York Islanders is Jeff Gorton. The current head coach Barry Trotz was appointed to his position in 2018. The team is owned by Jon Ledecky and Scott D. Malkin. New York Islanders has two minor league affiliates, those being Bridgeport Sound Tigers in AHL league and Worcester Railers in ECHL league.

Bryan Trottier, Mike Bossy and Dennis Potvin – Legends of golden era

When we talked about key players of New York Islanders history, it is obvious that we concentrate mostly of that golden era of the team. We started with Bryan Trottier, he played 15 seasons with Islanders (1975-90) and played 1123 games. He made 1353 points (500+853) points those games and he is part of Hockey Hall of Fame. After 15 seasons with New York Islanders Trottier signed to Pittsburg Penguins and won two Stanley Cups more (1991, 1992).

Mike Bossy was another New York Islanders legend. he was part of legendary line “The Trio Grande” along Trottier and Clark Gillies. Bossy played his entire career with Islanders (1977-87). He won Calder Trophy as NHL rookie of the year (1978-79) and he is NHL’s all-time leader in average goals scored per regular season game. He is also part of Hockey Hall of Fame. Bossy need to retired 1988, because continuous back problems – he was only 30 years old.

Dennis Potvin was an important part of the Islanders glory years. One of the NHL’s all-time greatest defenceman played his entire career with Islanders (1973-88). He won Calder Trophy (1973-74) and Norris Trophy as league’s top defenceman three times (1975-76, 1977-78 and 1978-79).

John Tavares face of a new era

New York Islanders selected John Tavares with the first-overall pick of the 2009 NHL draft. Tavares played nine seasons with New York Islanders (2009 – 2018) and was big part of rebuilding of team. After season 2017-18 Tavares signed seven-year contract with Toronto Maple Leafs. During nine seasons with New York Islanders, John Tavares was selected 6 times NHL All-Star game and once NHL All-Star Team (2014-15).