The NHL All-Star teams were first named at the end of the 1930–31 NHL season. Purpose of the NHL All-Star Team was honor best player over the season at every position. PHWA (Professional Hockey Writer’s Association) representatives voted the all-star team at the end of regular season.

History of NHL All-Star Teams

First time NHL All-Star teams were named were season 1930-31. PHWA representatives voted their favorites and after that the top two players at each position are named to the First and Second All-Star Teams. This tradition has lasted for years and even today the method is same. In season 1982-83 NHL started to name also All-Rookie Team.

NHL All-Star Teams and records

Ray Bourque is player that is selected the most time in history to the NHL first all-star team (13 times) He was also selected 6 times to the 2nd all-star team. The leader of most selections is Gordie Howe. He was selected total of 21 All-Star teams (12 first, 9 second). If we looked all positions, we can make short notes of the records.

C: Wayne Gretzky leads centers – he was selected 8 times to the First All-Star Team. Jean Beliveau, Phil Esposito and Stan Mikita were selected 6 times.

LW: Bobby Hull leads left wingers – he was selected 10 times, followed by Ted Lindsay and Alexander Ovechkin (8 times) – Ovechkin is leader of the First All-Star Team selections among active players.

RW: Right wingers we got Gordie Howe as a leader (12 times), followed by Maurice Richard (8 times) and Jaromir Jagr (7 times).

D: Ray Bourgue leads defencemen with 13 selections, followed by Doug Harvey and Nicklas Lidström (10 times).

G: Glenn Hall leads goalies with 7 selections, followed by Dominik Hasek and Bill Duman (6 times).