Phoenix Coyotes was a hockey team located in Phoenix Metropolitan Arena. Originally team was founded in Winnipeg as a Winnipeg Jets 1971. The Jets played NHL during seasons 1979 – 1996 and after that franchise was moved to Phoenix and the name was changed to Phoenix Coyotes.

Short History

Winnipeg Jets started to play WHA-league 1971 and they were the most successful team in the history of WHA. After the WHA had ceased operations the Jets joined NHL at 1979. The Jets ran into financial trouble in the 1990s – player salaries began to grow and that hit the Canadian teams hard. Group of businessmen purchased the team with plans to move it to Phoenix for the 1996-97 and team name changed to Phoenix Coyotes. After moved to Phoenix, the Coyotes entered playoffs four times a row – every time they lost at first round.

Phoenix Coyotes has never won Stanley Cup and their best season was 2011-12 when they reached to the Conference Finals (lost to LA Kings 1-4). In December 2008, the media heard that the Coyotes were suffering massive losses and team went into bankruptcy 2009. After that NHL bought team for 140 million dollars and tried to stabilized team operations. After many failure business negotiations team was sold to the Renaissance Sports & Entertainment group. After that team name was changed to the Arizona Coyotes (own topic under Teams).


Many famous Phoenix Coyotes players have been introduced under Arizona Coyotes topic. Keith Tkachuk, Jeremy Roenick, Teppo Numminen etc.